Friday, August 12, 2011
Do u believe PETA is blaming the jockey of the barbaro & this past weekend second place finisher of the derby?
I did not know that Edgar Prado was being blamed for Barbaro's death- that's a new one on me, because there is NO WAY he's at fault. Barbaro died from a DISEASE which has killed numerous horses worldwide, from all walks of life, and for which there is no cure and very few effective treatments. Eight Belles, on the other hand, was euthanized after breaking both front legs following the Derby. Her jockey is not to blame for what happened- he rode the race he was told to ride, and did what he'd been told to do by the filly's trainer. This is just a case of PETA's looking for a scapegoat and trying to blame someone for what happened, instead of looking at the REAL CAUSES of Saturday's tragedy, which were many. Eight Belles should never have been in that race at all- she was too young and immature physically- and what was worse is that she was overgrown and inbred, and had a superfine bone structure which was inherently weak and prone to breakage under stress. She was also running on a strange and new surface- all her prior races had been on Polytrack, whereas Churchill Downs is a DIRT track and always has been, and against colts for the first time in her life. Add in the pressure to win which all Derby horses are put under, and guess what- you have the equivalent of a ticking time bomb which is waiting to explode. Well, it detonated all right- and it cost the filly her life. Her jockey is not to blame for any of that, however. PETA has no proof of its allegations- and they aren't likely to gain any from anyone.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment